Dr. G.K.Koutu  

Director Research Services
Ph.:0761-2681074 (O)

About Directorate

  • To exercise overall control of the planning and prosecution of research conducted by the Vishwa Vidyalaya,
  • To prepare research Programmes and annual budget estimates as may be required by the Vishwa Vidyalaya.
  • To assist the Dean Faculties concerned in the supervision over the Members of the College of staff engaged in approved research Programmes under the general purview of the research service.
  • To require and supervise the compilation of research result, and the proper publication of the research findings.
  • To approve for publication, in consultation with Deans of Faculties concerned, research manuscripts in such general form and such number as may be determined;
  • To assign numbers to all publications and to maintain official record of all publications.
  • To be responsible to the Vice-Chancellor in exercise of the powers and discharge of the duties under the Act.
  • To perform such other duties as may be conferred or imposed on him by statutes, regulations or by the Vice-Chancellor with the prior approval of the Board.
  • To provide services to corporate sector and NGos, government organizations etc for product testing and other consultative services.

Research Council

The Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya Statute 1964, chapter II item 28 has the provision of a Research Council with the following provisions as per Deputy Registrar (ADMN) order No. Meet.Sec./127th Admn.C1/79 dated 03/03/2011.
1 Director Research Services Chairman
2 Director Extension Services Member
3 Director Instructions Member
4 Director Farms Member
5 Deans of Faculties  Member
6 Deans of Colleges Member
7 Associate Director Research of ZARSs Member
8 Director of Agriculture or his nominee Member
9 Three Heads of departments Member
(One each from Agriculture, Agriculture Engineering and Veterinary Science)
10 Associate Director of Research Services  Member Secretary

Power and Function of Research Council

  • To suggest research programmes relevant to the Agro-Climatic Zones of the State and in context to the national and global challenges
  • To review the research achievements of each agro-climatic zones and to see that these are consistent with the mandate of the research station concern
  • To guide about the efficient use of resources including available infrastructure, land, water, laboratories and equipments as well as human resources to the best interest of the Vishwa Vidyalaya and farming community.
  • To develop policies for academic and technical improvement from time to time.
  • Any other function that may be specifically assigned by the vice chancellor.

Out of eleven agro-climatic zones, seven agro-climatic zones and 25 districts are the part of jurisdiction of the JNKVV, Jabalpur.

  1. Chhattisgarh Plain (Balaghat district).
  2. Northern Hill Zone of Chhattisgarh (Mandla, Dindori, Shahdol, Annupur, Umaria)
  3. Kaymore Plateau & Satpura Hills (Jabalpur, Katni, Seoni, Panna, Rewa, Sidhi, Singhroli & Satna).
  4. Vindhyan Plateau- Partially  (Sagar, Damoh, Raisen & Vidisha districts only)
  5. Central Narmada Valley (Narsinghpur, Hoshangabad & Harda)
  6. Bundelkhand Zone- Partially  (Tikamgarh & Chhatarpur)
  7. Satpura Plateau (Betul & Chhindwara)

List of Research Stations of JNKVV and their functions


Name of Station





Zonal Agricultural Research Stations


Zonal Agricultural Research station, JNKVV, Jabalpur (MP)

Farm Machinery and implements, post harvest technology, soil physics, soil microbiology, micronutrients, mixed farming and forages, seed technology, food technology, agro-forestry systems and vegetables. Medicinal & aromatic plants, organic farming and biotechnology

Wheat (ranifed), rice, gram, sesame, soybean, lentil, linseed, pigeonpea, pea and betelvine.



Zonal Agricultural Research Station, Powarkheda, Hoshangabad (MP)

Water management in command area of deep black soils, wheat (irrigated), Sugarcane and  Drainage in black soils

Rice, lentil, sesame, linseed, soybean and wheat (irrigated)

Pigeonpea and soybean


Zonal Agricultural Research Station, College of Agriculture, Tikamgarh (MP)

Soil and water management for areas irrigated from tanks/wells and sesame

Wheat, sorghum, gram, urid, tur, fodder-cum-fuel trees and forages, cash crops and tuber crops

Rice and sorghum


Zonal Agricultural Research Station, Chhindwara (MP)

Niger, potato tuber crops and maize

Maize, sorghum, pigeonpea, groundnut, urid and castor

Millets (kodo-kutki), sesame, soybean

Regional Agricultural Research Stations


Regional Agril. Research Station
College of Agriculture, Rewa (MP)

Rainfed farming, mango and guava

Kodo-kutki, rice, gram and linseed

Soybean and kharif pulses


Regional Agril. Research Station, Sagar (MP)

Rainfed wheat, lentil and linseed

Gram, sesame and safflower



Tribal Agril. Regional Research Station,
Dindori (MP)


Rapeseed/mustard and niger



Regional Agricultural Research Station, Waraseoni, Balaghat (MP)




Agricultural Research Stations


Betelvine Research Station, Navgaon, Chhatarpur (MP)





Dryland Horticultural Research Station, Garhakota, Sagar (MP)

Dryland horticulture

Traditional fruits



Agricultural Research Station, Tendni, Chhindwara

Seed production, soybean, groundnut, niger, gram and wheat




Agricultural Research Station, Saunsar, Chhindwara

Mandarin and orange



  1. Future Thurst of the Agricultural Research
  • Safe-guarding the diversity of plant genetic resources.
  • Conservation and improvement of Natural resources for sustainable production.
  • Increasing and stabilizing yield through exploitation of genetic potential.
  • Bio-technological advancements for combating abiotic and biotic stresses.
  • Rationalization of cropping through crop diversification.
  • Modernization of commercial horticulture.
  • Harnessing indigenous technological knowledge for developing Low Input Sustainable Agriculture (LISA).
  • Integrated mechanization and post-harvest technology.
  • Fodder improvement and management for large chunk of livestock.
  • Rehabilitation of wastelands.
  • Climate smart agriculture
  • Organic farming
  • Information technology – Reaching the un-reached.
  • Integrated farming approach specially for small/marginal and tribal farmers.