Role of Dean Faculty of Agriculture

  • Responsible to the Vice Chancellor for the administration and execution of the Faculty policies.
  • Responsible for the due observance of the statutes and other regulations related to the Faculty.
  • Formulate and preset policies to the faculty for their consideration without prejudice to the right of any member to present any matter before the Faculty
  • Responsible to organize, advise, guide and conduct matters related to the policies and programmes related with teaching/research/extension curricula course, course outline, examinations, registration and admission etc. in the faculty and act as the Chief Advisor to the Vice Chancellor and other concerned officers in this connection.
  • Serve as the medium of communication for all official business of the Faculty with other authorities of the University, Colleges, students and public
  • Perform other duties as or assigned to him by the Vie Chancellor.


  • Manage educational activities of Bachelor Degree programmes of Agriculture/ Forestry/ Horticulture in the University.
  • Admission at Bachelor degree programme in the Colleges under the Faculty.
  • Maintain congruence in Educational programmes with the State and National policies.
  • Aim programmes of agricultural education at producing competent and skilled graduates possessing leadership qualities.
  • Accreditation of the University and Colleges of the Faculty.
  • Manage Development Grant provided by ICAR to the University.
  • Planning and academic coordination for teaching, quality of education, policy matters and system regarding resident instruction, overseeing the examination and evaluation, development and enforcement of curricula, development of educational technology and teachers’ training programme(s), HRD of faculty, etc.
  • Initiate Life time and Jawahar Ratna Award every year
  • Dean Faculty of Agriculture is next to Hon’ble Vice Chancellor and look after the works of University in the absence of Hon’ble Vice Chancellor.

Administrative jurisdiction

Bachelor degree programmes in the constituent colleges of the Faculty viz.,

  • Agriculture at College of Agriculture Jabalpur / Rewa / Tikamgarh / Ganj Basoda (Vidisha)/ Waraseoni (Balaghat)/ Powarkheda (Hoshangabad)/ Khurai (Sagar)
  • Horticulture at College of Horticulture Rehli (Sagar) and Chhindwara
  • Forestry at College of Agriculture, Jabalpur

College Establishment
B. Sc. (Agriculture)
College of Agriculture, Jabalpur 1955
College of Agriculture, Rewa 1952
College of Agriculture, Tikamgarh 2004
College of Agriculture, Ganj basoda 2007
College of Agriculture, Powarkheda 2015
College of Agriculture, Balaghat 2012
College of Agriculture, Khurai 2018
B.Sc. (Horticulture) 2018
B.Sc. (Horticulture)
College of Horticulture, Rehli 2018
College of Horticulture, Chhindwara 2019
B.Sc. (Forestry)
College of Agriculture, Jabalpur 1981


ICAR Ranking of the University

Rank 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
1-10 9
21-30 18

Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award: The University is awarded by ICAR as Best State Agriculture University under Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award for the year 2019.

AIASA Best Agriculture University Award: The University is recognized as Best Agriculture University at national level in the year 2019 by All India Agricultural Students Association (AIASA), New Delhi, a welfare Society established to look after the welfare of Agriculture, Horticultural and Animal Husbandry.

Mahindra Samridhi National Best Agriculture University Award for Education: The University is recognized as National Best Agriculture University for Education in the year 2015 by Mahindra Samridhi, India. It was instituted in 2011, as Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards to bestowed institutions to recognize their noteworthy and purposeful contributions in the field of agriculture, the backbone of the Indian economy.

Dhanuka Innovative Agriculture Award: The University received Dhanuka Innovative Agriculture Award - Best Innovative Technology in Agriculture in the year 2020 by Dhanuka Agritech Limited.

Dean Faculty of Agriculture

Name : Dhirendra Khare
Phone 0761 - 2681200
Fax 0761 - 2681200
Cell 9893276471
E mail