Colleges (Agriculture)

College of Agriculture, Jabalpur

The college was inaugurated by the then Chief Minister, Shri Ravi Shankar Shukla on July 20, 1955. Initially the classes started in the premises of the college of Veterinary Science, Jabalpur. In 1956 the college was shifted to newly constructed building of Boys hostel. Dr. Radhelal Gupta took over as Principal in July 1957. The foundation stone of present building of the college was laid down by Shri Kailash Nath Katjoo on December 1957 and was inaugurated by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru on July 12, 1961.

College of Agriculture, Rewa

Rewa is situated at the latitude of 24° 30 N, longitude of 80°15 E, 306.06 m above from sea level and one kilometer from NH-7. Rewa comes under Kymore Plateau and Satpura Hills Agro climatic zone IV of Madhya Pradesh. Rewa, the capital of old Vindhya Pradesh before inception of Madhya Pradesh is famous globally as homeland of “White Tiger”. College of Agriculture, Rewa is one of the oldest college started in 1952 administratively linked with Darbar College, Rewa, Foundation stone of College of Agriculture, was laid down on 21st October 1952.

College of Agriculture, Tikamgarh

Looking to the specific need of the Agro-climatic Zone VII- Bundelkhand Zone, Regional Agricultural Research Station was started by the J.N. Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur on October 20, 1981 and upgraded later on to Zonal Agricultural Research Station in 1989, then foundation of the college was laid down on 21st February, 2004, by Sushree Uma Bharti, the Ex-Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. The College of Agriculture, Tikamgarh came into existence in the academic year 2004-05. The college is situated on the Kundeshwar road, Tikamgarh which is about 56 and 100 km away from the nearest railway stations Lalitpur and Jhansi respectively and the nearest airport (160 km) is at Khajuraho.

College of Agriculture, Ganjbasoda

College of Ganjbasoda is the first College of Agriculture in the state of Madhya Pradesh established in the year 2007 at Tahsil place. With the optimum strength of teachers, the college is also actively participated in the field of extension especially with the excellent programme of the Government of Madhya Pradesh ‘Krishi Mahotsav’. The College has started basic research on wheat, soybean and chickpea as these are the most important crops of the district. Tahsil Ganjbasoda is known for rianfed wheat with maximum number of tractors. Therefore scientists of agricultural engineering are giving focus on mechanization and soil and water conservation.


College of Agriculture, Balaghat

The College of Agriculture, Waraseoni is situated at state highway number, 4 km away from Waraseoni towards Lalbarra on Regional Agriculture Research Station (RARS). As per revenue record RARS, location is in Newargaon Village but is popularly known as Murjhad Farm because it is very near to Villege Murjhad. Geographically its altitude, Longitude and Latitude is 301.5M, 80°50’E, 21°45’N respectively. The stone foundation of College building was celebrated on 23.01.2014, vikram samvat 2070 magh Krishna tithi 7 by H’ble Chief guest Nitin Gadkari’, ex president BJP.

Diploma (Horticulture)





Dryland Horticulture Research and Training Centre, Garhakota, Dist. Sagar

Colleges under Faculty of Agriculture

At present there are five constituent Colleges at Jabalpur, Rewa, Tikamgarh, Ganj Basoda (Vidisha), and Waraseoni (Balaghat) and one Horticultural Vocational Education Institute, Garhakota (Sagar) under faculty of Agriculture.

S.No. Name of the Colleges / Institute Year of Establishment

College of Agriculture, Jabalpur



College of Agriculture, Rewa



College of Agriculture, Tikamgarh



College of Agriculture, Ganj Basoda



College of Agriculture, Waraseoni (Balaghat)

2012 (Session 2012-13)


Horticulture Vocational Education Institute, (DHRTC), Garhakota (Sagar)


Departments in the Faculty of Agriculture

S.No. Departments
1. Agronomy
2 Agricultural Biotechnology
3 Agricultural Economics & Farm Management
4 Entomology
5 Extension Education
6 Food Science & Technology
7 Forestry
8 Horticulture
9 Language & Basic Science
10 Mathematics & Statistics
11 Genetics & Plant Breeding
12 Plant Pathology
13. Plant Physiology
14. Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry